Online Thursday 7 July 2022, 20:00 BST/12:00 PDT/15:00 EDT Free

The Synthetic Ecologies Lab brings together artistic and scientific communities into experimental exchange through its latest project: Compendium.

How can fermentation and our relationship with microbial life inform different disciplinary practices?

Compendium is a creative research and development tool devised by Serpentine’s Synthetic Ecologies Lab. It is a guide in the exploration of the parallels between culture, ecology and life science through the lens of seasonal thematic motifs. Led by a Guest Curator and the Guild, – a group of contributing thought leaders from diverse fields, – Compendium is an evolving archive of sketches, notes and conversations that explore histories of human knowledge and the invisible scales of life that govern not only our kitchens, but also our contemporary science, culture and technology.

To celebrate the launch of the first Compendium focused on fermentation, please join Guest Curator Angela Dimayuga and Synthetic Ecologies Lab Principal Investigator and Compendium Project Director Yasaman Sheri, in a live online conversation via Serpentine’s Twitch (@serpentineUK) on Thursday 07 July from 20:00 BST/15:00 EDT/12:00 PDT. This will be an open virtual forum hosted on Serpentine’s Twitch, and an opportunity to interact with Angela and Yasaman directly, and to learn how Compendium could benefit your own research.

We look forward to introducing Compendium to you and warmly welcome your exploratory fermentation based queries.

Find out more about Compendium.

Important Information

You will need to create a Twitch account to join the conversation in real-time and take part. This is free and instructions can be found here.

This event will have live open captions.

Archive

Discover over 50 years of the Serpentine

From the architectural Pavilion and digital commissions to the ideas Marathons and research-led initiatives, explore our past projects and exhibitions.

View archive